I am feeling so proud of myself right now

The picture above reminds me of waking up one morning with the bed covered in blood, my hand throbbing with pain and the worst hangover ever. The evening before I’d got so drunk I couldn’t remember what I’d done and I still can’t – I’ll never know. That day I spent over 4 hours in A&E on the Isle of Man, alone. I decided I’d had enough of feeling shit and living a life of nothing.

A year later and ONE WHOLE YEAR SOBER! It’s definitely not been easy but it’s been worth every single wobble (and there’s been a few). Everything in my life has changed. My physical health, my mental health, my confidence, my self esteem, my relationships, my work, my social life. All of it for the better!

Thank you so much to all my friends and family that have been there for me over the last 12 months. I definitely wouldn’t have been able to do this without you.

This is my biggest achievement ever and I still pinch myself sometimes because a year ago, part of me wasn’t sure I’d be able to do it. I was so determined and I still am. I now know I can’t ever drink and I’m going to continue to take this one day at a time 💪 🙏 #ODAAT

6 thoughts on “I am feeling so proud of myself right now

  1. Amazing!! You are truly extraordinary and even though we don’t know each other I read this and feel tearful with joy looking at your sober date because I feel that way when I look at my own. My 280 days are a miracle to me and like you, I never truly believed on my day one that I’d manage. My year sober will be (I hope – this journey has shown me I can’t take it for granted) 23rd January and I feel cautiously confident I will reach it. A huge congratulations on your one year sober, I am SO happy for you – absolutely amazing. Anna x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Anna,

      Thank you so much for your lovely message. Of course you will reach 1 year sober! I keep saying to people “if I can do it, anyone can”. It’s funny how people writing about their journey can help others so much. You can do this and I’m with you all the way!

      You are also truly extraordinary 😊 xx

      Like

Leave a comment